Putting the Wichita Lineman out of a job…

10906378_10204991720944835_8205386983646749844_n

As the new year has dawned, so has it on me that I desire to write more, set my heart free and nurture my spirit and free will more thoroughly. I’m not sure what that all means but art and writing are certainly integral to that goal. It’s not a resolution but a process, a direction I set my intentions on each day. I heard it put somewhere recently that a goal is something  that can be changed if something better comes along. I like that. I like this photograph, too. This is at one of my local grocery stores here in town, a community of bright, creative souls….isn’t it obvious? Seems like a good place to me to be nurtured…. Oh, wait! It HAS done so for over 33 years!

How to make a tin can phone (minus the now-defunct public booth):

Take two soup cans or heavy duty plastic or paper cups. CAREFULLY punch a hole in the middle of the bottom of each. Get some good string, not thin and flimsy and easily breakable but not as heavy as clothesline, about 15 feet long or so. Experiment with longer first and then shorter (too short and you wind up cheating because you’re standing right next to the person and you can hear them clearly). Tie a know in one end. Feed the loose end through the hole in one can/cup. Pull though until the knot stops it. Feed the loose end through the hole in the other can/cup. Pull through enough to be able to make a good knot. Now, you and your friend each take a can/cup and move away from each other until the string is taut. One of you put your ear to the can/cup the other one gets to say something secret or silly into the other….. The vibrations along the line let you actually hear each other. Simple amusement number 372. 🙂

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Putting the Wichita Lineman out of a job…

  1. Kirsten says:

    This was a gift I needed today. Thank you, Dianne!

Leave a Reply

