Who cut the cheese?….

Image

I recently read that the majority of Facebook users are now around my age- old. I realize you’re all out there texting and tweeting and tumbl-ing or whatever now but…

Open letter to young people:

I know I’ve ranted and raved about the evils of the technical world over the years but I’ve also been darned amused with it myself so can’t really intend it so seriously. I mean, I do hope you are all out there walking through the forest, rock climbing, reading a good book, making love or partaking in some other much more worthwhile activity than posting on FB. However, I ask you not to completely give up on us…old folks.

I originally signed up for the social media site in order to try and keep an eye on the activities and goings-ons of my boys. Sadly, they realized that. Happily, I have been “friended” by many of their friends. I cannot fully express the hollow place I feel now that you’ve all grown up. Play dates, school functions, birthdays, sleepovers and all other manner of “family”-building took place over 24 years or more. You are all my family.

Ed asked what I got out of FB. Yes, it certainly is a time-sink. However, who’s having a baby, living vicariously through friends’ vacation pictures, who needs consoling, family biz… I do get it. Yes, there is a lot of crap. I think I am lucky in that so many of my friends are intelligent, feeling human beings that do like cat videos and occasionally a few lame things but for the most part… pictures and inspiration. That’s what the scroll thingee is for, skipping nonsense (okay, some people do more than their share of posting when they’re bored….GUILTY).

But, kids, don’t leave me hangin’! What I’d really love is a visit or a phone call or an actual letter, but, I’ll settle for your life updates on school, work, relationships or important topics that may have meaning in your life right now. Let me know how smart and beautiful and caring you are! Keep your shopping sprees and party antics to yourself but share the rest :).

I think that’s why the folks in this photo look so…??? They felt left out. Thanks for listening.

This post’s how-to: How to write a letter

Get a piece of paper big enough to write in your own writing, at least a few words. Find a writing utensil of any variety to accomplish this. Find an envelope. If you get junk mail, save the envelopes, cross off or put a sticker over all the info on there and use that. Most of you don’t know mailing addresses any more and phone books don’t give them to you, usually. This is a good time to pick up a phone and call or, at least text someone who may have a clue about the address. Now the really hard part. Go to the post office and buy a stamp. Do you remember where things go?  YOUR return address goes in the top left corner. The person you are writing to gets their address written in the middle of the envelope, down and right from yours. The stamp goes on the top right corner. (all this happens on the front of the envelope). Place in the nearest mail box and know you’ve done a good thing.

You may think this is silly but I’ve had young people who I thought were old enough to know this that did not 😦    Be well! xoxoxox

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

