The almost Christmas letter….

Image

The models had a lovely day at the beach, all lined up for their audition for this year’s Christmas card!

(If you are reading this expecting to find the Christmas letter, it means you’ve gotten your hard copy card in the post before I’ve gotten the sure-to-be thrilling family history uploaded yet… please check back later) xoxoxox

“You always do everything at the last minute!” my honey pointed out… “It took you almost three years to realize that?” I calmly replied. And so, this leads me to the almost letter because I’m still hoping to get some other photos and put my brain around what needs to go in such an essay, especially online.

What can I say- my creative muse is extremely unpredictable.

Knowing that my ever-expanding hiney needed to get some exercise, I grabbed my little bucket and walked down to the street to collect the main ingredient for my latest brainstorm, Sand People. A beautiful afternoon, quite warm, it was a good excuse to ignore the dishes a little longer. Back up the hill from the beach to our mad scientist studio, I set to work concocting a sand clay of sorts. In case you are interested in how, this is my best recollection. There are better recipes elsewhere online.

2 cups of Sand 1/2 – 1 cup of White Glue (add slowly until desired consistency is achieved) 1/2 – 1 cup of Cornstarch – (See more at: http://www.creativeplayhouse.mumsinjersey.co.uk/2013/06/sand-clay.html#sthash.UBJO5tTm.dpuf) There are other recipes out there that include cream of tartar or exchange liquid for powder starch and cooking but that seemed like too much work.

Being the child that I am, I poured the ingredients into a tub and immediately stuck my hands in the mess to mix it. Just like tar and feathers….took forever to exhume my fingers. But it was fun. Once mixed, I realized the recipes called for “play sand” meaning fine and DRY. This was not un-fine, really but was damp from being drawn closer to the waves (where it’s less gravelly). SO, I threw in a handful more of cornstarch. Still didn’t seem stiff enough. SO I threw in a cup or two of flour (gluten makes things stick together, right?). Alas, it seemed about as good as it would get.Image     Into the house I went with tubs of sea glass and sea shells from years of collecting as well as toothpicks, pine needles from the yard and a craft mat (very helpful for keeping things clean and to be able to remove sticky things from…like sand clay). Big blob on bottom, toothpick into the middle, two additional blobs over toothpick (to keep them somewhat level and together). Couple bitty pieces of glass for buttons, cut the top of the toothpick off for a nose, stuck pine needles in for arms and put it aside to dry for a day or two. It shrinks, be forewarned! The end of the toothpick was sticking out so I took nippers and cut them all off and glued glass and shells on for hat and VOILA!

My nefarious scheme to take over the world is nearly complete. Hmmmmmm, maybe a herd of 1 1/2 inch creatures won’t do as much of my bidding as I’d hoped…. oh, well, it was fun! And I love my final Christmas card!

Now, if I can get some info from all our kids and pics, I’ll get the family Christmas letter out in the next couple of days!

’til then, spread peace!

Image

This little fella looks like he’s dancing, doesn’t he? A goofball after my own heart!!!

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in Christmas, crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

