What is love…

Image

Over 40 years after he knocked her to the ground, breaking her nose,

My earliest memory of him,

28 years after their divorce, followed by another failed marriage and another

With the yelling still echoing in my ears

He says, as he lay there in a bed draped in his last regrets

“I don’t know what went wrong. I always loved your ma. I still do to this day”

So I ask yet again, What is Love?

Puppy love, the love of a good book, “Love, love, LOVE my BFF”

Is it naive to think it’s much more than the quickening of the pulse one feels

As your date pulls up out front

He worked hard, it’s not that

He told us every day how much he loved us, hugged and kissed us

Then smacked you across the head if you wore the wrong shoes

“What are you, stupid?” Was he joking?

Not when the police arrived. Every time they arrived

I never realized how much he loved us until I was much older

I never realized until even older than that, the word “love” is a cop out

Naivety strikes again

If someone says they love you forty times a day yet

Does nothing to contribute to your well-being

Often as not hurts your feelings, throws their dirty laundry of life in your lap

Sucks the living life out of you

Does it make it love because they say it is?

Some times there are those who pretend for a really long time to do the right thing

What is that?

I stopped pretending I knew when I was sixteen and ran away from home

I thought I was in love

Talk about rude awakenings

So, why the eternal optimism?

I’m thinking now that it’s really just a game of hide and go seek

I always was competitive in my own way

Into the happiness of pursuit

Is it because they need you so badly and they want it to be so

She had the brains

He had the braun

They both needed someone

Wanted someone desperately for alleged acceptance or support I guess

Even after they split she would call him to deal with the repairmen

Or her unruly teenage daughter

What do I know

I suppose it can only be real if every part of you screams out loud

“This feels right!”

But, what about when it fades away?

Who stokes the fire, who’s duty is it, what does that look like?

I’m waiting…

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is love…

  1. Lady Tie Di says:

    By the way, I am perfectly happy right now…. this was just brewing somewhere on the back burner…

  2. Lloyd says:

    That was good, Diane. The tastiest stuff comes from the back burners.

Leave a Reply

