No Leprechauns Needed for This Magic

What is it about a rainbow that automatically evokes a smile? There I was just shlepping through my morning when I looked out the back window (since the two back neighbors did such radical tree abatement the last few months, I’m now in a total fishbowl) and saw the multicolored band north of me. A childish little grin just spread across my face and I ran for my camera. Silly, huh?


But, it’s those little things that make life so special, those splashy but simple acts of nature, the dinner plate-sized, slimy mushroom in the lawn, the way it can be sunny on one side of our small house but raining out the living room window not more than fifty feet away. It’s the way the tulips in the pots I forgot to give back to Stephanie this past spring are peeking through the top soil once again, right on cue.


I’ve always felt it was important to notice these things over which we have no control, bits of color, life and wonderment because they are the filler, the background and the filter that make life so rich. It’s a little harder to notice in a concrete high rise, but, a rainbow is a rainbow no matter where you are. I’ve tried to always impress this on my kids. “Be sure and come out here and check out this sunset!” 


The holidays are getting stranger and stranger. Or more different and more different- perhaps that’s how I have to look at it. I see these t.v. commercials with little kids playing with Playskool toys and running to look under the Christmas tree, giant gatherings around Thanksgiving feasts…. it hasn’t been like that for some time and shan’t be again, I suspect. At least not until there might be grandkids. But for now, the older boy is way up in Portland and the younger one, by arrangement with his father, is with him for T-Day so I can have him Christmas day. Hey, I’ve got to hold onto that one, last moment of youth with him, my favorite! 


Yes, melancholy still casts his glance my way occasionally but doesn’t stay for long. I figured I’d go have Thanksgiving with the rest of Cambria down at the Vet’s Hall this week. Hadn’t been since Miles was a tot- we did that once and it was lovely. I wouldn’t be alone. Then, my last lover and I spoke on the phone and he kind of has invited me to come down south. Then, my brother just called to say he was up from L.A. to house sit my sister’s in Arroyo Grande for the week. I’ve got work lined up post T-Day… yeah, how could I not be grateful… 

So, today’s message- look for the little things around you that make each day special and before you know it, the rest of the universe will fall in step. Happy Thanksgiving if I don’t speak to you before then!  oxoxox







About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in rainbows, thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

