Are We There Yet??!!!

The absolute only thing that’s making this darned election remotely palpable is the appearance of a last minute contender, “Joe Mama.” I just want to thank whoever had the wonderful sense of humor (not to mention the shared disgust at the unbelievable proliferation of signs) to stick these little gems in the midst of the plastic jungles around town. I think he’ll be my go-to write in candidate when I’m not sure enough about a particular candidate. 


Speaking of which, last night, I was honored to be invited to engage in an evening of meaningful discourse on the ballot book. What a concept! Potluck and politics- the winning combination (I so miss these conversations with my late mother). No one in the crowd had to agree with anyone else, just ask questions, compare notes, share views… if this went on in more communities, more households, perhaps things would start to make a little more sense. I know I learned a few things, came up with more questions to persue but felt much more confident about my decisions at the end of the evening. Thank you SO much, you guys, for hosting this!


But I tell ya, I am really about done with this whole thing. The latest tactic I caught wind of today- someone is telling people that if they vote for say, me and Del Clegg, then it counts as only half a vote but if you vote for this-other-particular-candidate it counts as one or SOME such cockamamie scheme… all I can figure out is if people put more than two candidates (the ballot says, “VOTE FOR TWO CANDIDATES”), then I believe it would invalidate the entry if not the whole ballot. Something like that. I didn’t have the patience to have them repeat it. 


When all is said and done, however, I’ve got bigger things to worry about like my son’s surgery next week, if I’m going to make my rent and bills this month and how to contribute to the kids in the community should I not get my seat back in the Board Room. Not that there aren’t equally meaningful and caring things I can do for them! And I’ll be just as happy. 





About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are We There Yet??!!!

  1. Dianne, no one is questioning your commitment to the kids of this community! I think it's a good thing that this other particular candidate is questioning our superintendent, I just hate that it's hurt you in the interim!

  2. Lady Tie Di says:

    Not my commitment, just my abilities and integrity… 🙂 Like I don't ask questions? Just sayin'…. Thanks for weighing in, tho' oxoxox

Leave a Reply

