Is There a Doctor in the House?



O.k. so he’s not exactly a doctor nor is he planning on becoming one, but my 23 year-old son, Miles, IS studying to be a paramedic. And he just called to tell me he completed his last test this morning and is now an officially certified EMT (the first step toward paramedic). “As his mom, tell us how that makes you feel. Inquiring minds want to know!”


“Ahem,” I start humbly… But seriously- I got home from doing an early massage and noticed the light blinking on the answering machine. A very excited voice greeted me. I could have sworn it was Woody, Miles’ father, with whom I’m still close friends and who happens to be painting my house. As I continued listening to the message, however, I finally realized it was the younger Woodsmall! That was my first head-zinger of the day.


The next one? The good news. Mind you, both my sons are quite bright (no, I’m not just saying that because I’m they’re mother) (really!) and I have never doubted they could accomplish whatever they put their minds to. God knows I’ve had my setbacks in life but, well, I’ve lived to tell about them and so will Miles. One small practical test, one he’d actually kind of already passed but didn’t the second time when asked to perform it, put his time table off ever so slightly. This morning he nailed it. WooHOOO!


Last fall, Miles came to the realization that his active mind and big heart were not going to be satisfied by a life in the computer programming field. Emergency services have long held an interest for him and so they called out to him now. It does a mother good just to see her child find something to be passionate about. Heck, steady work, decent pay, satisfying duties= sigh of relief. I should clarify that if he was a terrific artist and found his calling in a tattoo parlor, I’d be equally happy for him. Truly! But this is pretty cool.  


And so, I’m sharing my good news with you. There is always hope. Here was a friendly, helpful, kind kid who spent three hellish years in middle school (mostly sitting outside the classroom for disrupting class by speaking his mind) and often trudging through high school, challenging the system the whole way (don’t know where he got either of those traits) only to follow his own path, live his own life, “do his own thang” to take on an honorable profession… I couldn’t be happier for him.


Happy, healthy- what more could a mother want?



About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in motherhood, paramedic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

