Small Town, Big Fun

O.k. so this picture (Zachary on top!) was taken at the Mission Prep game the previous Friday night and it looks tweaked weirdly anyway. Well, I didn’t get any pictures from last night’s Coast Union High School game against Mojave and it would have looked about as washed out as this because the fog was SO thick in the stadium! Good ol’ Mr. “Aaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy” O’Neal was in the announcer’s seat and occasionally couldn’t see the numbers across the field to call out the shots. (In his lovely east coast accent)” Well, I could see someone from Coast take down someone from Mojave but I couldn’t tell ya hooze…. but I guess that’s the important part!” 

Friday night lights. Yessiree Bob. Old timers, babies, high schoolers, community members, alumni all come out. The snack bar is bustling, the kids are flirting with each other (don’t really know how much of the game they see- who could concentrate anyway when it’s 45 degrees out and you’re wearing nothing more than a scrap of silky fabric across your chest?) I love it. I guess you could tell if you sat near me. God help you if you didn’t bring earplugs. 

Nobody got hauled off the field or even seriously injured for that matter so someone made the suggestion we head to the Cambria Pines Lodge afterwards to see  Grammy winner and local favorite, Louie Ortega play. Being this was the varsity team, the kids were pretty much all driving themselves home anyway, so…. off a handful of the rowdier adults went. How did I fall into that category? 🙂

Louie was masterfully rockin’ (as ever) with his band and I believe I didn’t wait much more than a few measures to jump on the dance floor. A friend kindly joined me so I wouldn’t look quite so foolish. I pay no attention to the stares, really. Actually, he wanted to dance, brave soul. Luckily he’s not the kind to get motion sick by watching me bounce around. I do work up a sweat. 

Our group quickly made our presence known by mobbing the dance floor, scooping up “howdy’s” from Louie and then with the “other” band that played. There happened to be a huge fundraising event at Hearst Castle the next day and the band scheduled to play (with Natasha Bedingfield) happened to ask to join on stage. Louie handed it over and man, did they rock!

“Hey, isn’t this Cambria? How can we be having so much fun?!” One just never knows what might happen half way between L.A. and San Francisco… We treat everyone like an old buddies so we joshed, jived and boogied all night long with all of them. Shoot- doesn’t get much better than that. Yeah, my life is fine.

What did you do?




About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in football, Louie Ortega. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

