In lieu of my weekly newspaper column

                                  

What should I think about a man wearing Crocs? I only ask because that is just a small concern my mind took up in it’s course today. Meaning, I’m getting into the minutia of the day which tends to cause me some distress. There I was, massaging this perfectly nice man, VERY uncharacteristically losing my train of thought, wondering if I’ll ever be able to really “date” anyone ever again and what should I look for in a guy when I glanced over at his clothes in a nice, neat pile there in the chair with a pair of Crocs carefully set to the side on the floor. Could I love a man who wears plastic shoes? Why not? They’re not the cheap knock-offs…


My day started from the get-go like this. I awoke with some bit of sadness. I miss my last lover tremendously though by all rights I shouldn’t as he was scared of love and was emotionally mean at times just to make me be the one to break it off- which I refused to do because everything else about him was so perfect. Also missing was my panic to write my weekly newspaper column today (you’d think I’d be happy not to have to panic). I don’t have to.


Not having to write doesn’t mean not wanting to. I do! But I can’t. I’ve been doing it every week for eleven years now! How can I stop? However, I bowed to pressure from without and from within, to run for my third term on the School Board. As this time around my name will have to go on the ballot (there are actually more than enough people running for a change), I will not be allowed to submit my personal ramblings that I may ensure the populace of a fair and reasonable view of all candidates. Wouldn’t want anyone feeling pressured to vote for me because I took my son to Portland to see his brother. Or because I’m sharing the challenges of communicating with a teen. Or anything like that.


So, I’ll continue to write weekly (or risk losing the habit) in THIS space which I’ve neglected for some time any way. I promise I’ll try to keep it more upbeat than today’s although there are no guarantees there- hey, I’ve got no word limit, no family-publication issues, paying customer needs… heck I could even drop an f-bomb if I wanted to. Don’t think that’s necessary.


No, I’ll just continue to ramble as I’ve done all these years. It’ll just be on a screen instead of in a folded piece of newsprint suitable for taking into the bathroom and contemplating. Of course, if you’ve got a laptop I suppose you can still take me with you…. nuff of that…


I’ll hopefully be back in The Cambrian at the end of November.


Hugs.

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In lieu of my weekly newspaper column

  1. Sunset says:

    Maybe you should work on the book you want to write with all that writing momentum just bustin' at the seams?

Leave a Reply

