Moon Shot

This photo was taken using the full moon, holding the lens open, to “write” with. The thing that makes “moon pictures” so tricky is one must form the shot upside down and backwards. It takes me about 50 shots to get just one, that I like. Thank goodness for digital cameras! I know, unlucky in real-life love, lucky in art…

Luck doesn’t begin to describe it…

Sunday, February 28, 2010

Went for a walk at midnight in the crisp full moon light down to the beach to see what I could see.

There the waves kept throwing their stark white lace over the sands, applauding themselves as they drew back their finely patterned curtain into Mother Ocean’s embrace. Bold as they were, they tickled the feet of the bluffs- bolder than I. I did not take their dare of walking amongst them.

Crossing back up the highway, I danced northward a spell, up the center line, that dance floor devoid of all life forms (except perhaps those lurking in the shadows which did not threaten me). Piedras Blancas Lighthouse egged me on, blinking in code “because you can, because you can.” The light of half day half night lit my steps.

The spring that runs down my street when it swells with such rains as we’ve had of late, courses over the eroded pavement and gravel, making a merry sound that well accompanies the cacophony of high tide.

After a long day’s work and a visit to the local saloon to dance and embrace a few old friends, it dawned on me almost as brightly as that giant luminescent bulb overhead, how blessed a life I live.

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in moonlight, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Aunt Annie says:

    This photo of moonlove is gorgeous!

  2. Lady Tie Di says:

    Well, thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

