Oreo, the folding Kitty, poses-
(Handmade paper bowl by Judy Maynard which normally serves as the collection point for items coming or going from the house) Oreo doesn’t care that the bowl could tip over at any moment…
More entries for Lindsay’s art challenge…
Thursday, February 25, 2010
So, little by little I got around to clicking some more photos or, in today’s case, taking the photos WAS the creative part of the day.

I Yam What I Yam:

Over the course of several days I was in the mood for photography. SO, kitties posed, the sun graced the daffodils in the next shot accommodatingly… The Yam above and flowers I took while trying to teach this woman I work for, how to use her digital point-and-shoot camera. These subjects are all at her house.

Tango with Zentangles:

I must thank my friend, Lindsay, for pointing me in the direction of the name for my style of glorified doodling. Someone coined the name “Zentangle” when she realized what a Zen state she reached by drawing this way. I certainly do. The one in the book is dated 2006. The others are samples I did for “Ten Minute Art” project I did during lunch break at the Santa Lucia Middle School this past Wednesday. Help, I’ve started drawing and I can’t stop…

On a Wing and a Prayer:

I debated long and hard whether this project might be considered sacrilegious but realized I was not detracting from the use of prayer flags only amplifying their meaning. I donate to Save Tibet and so get these little flags in the mail. I cut peace-hearts into them, added rainbow fringe, glued on some little jewels for weight and interest in the shapes of stars, hearts and flowers and what’s missing still are the busts of my guardian angels that I want to glue onto the tops of each flag- my mom, my aunt Myrt, my friend Marcia Phillips, my dad, and another departed soul as yet to be determined. Then it will just be a matter of where to hang it!

Still With the Hearts, Already…. Sheesh!:

Origami heart… I’ll be darned if I can find the website again that showed me how to do this fold. Yes, I love my Mac.

Would You Believe… ANOTHER HEART?!:

A good ol’ Borax Crystal one. You bend a pipe cleaner (oh, these days they’re called “chenille stems” I guess because no one cleans their pipes any more) into a heart shape, suspend it over a jar so it doesn’t touch and pour a solution of Borax and water over it to cover. The ones in back soaked an hour. This big daddy of ‘em all soaked overnight. What can I say- I’m easily amused.

Is that it? Yes, I guess so for now. I’ll put the simple projects on my “Projects” page on my website (www.ladytiedi.com) eventually.

About Lady Tie Di

I acquired the moniker of "Lady Tie Di" (my old radio name, a twist on my name, Dianne, and my creative side...) for a good reason. I make and sell tie dyes on occasion (amongst other things), my cars are often as not works of art and I do like color in my world. I try to spread peace and love where ever I can and to make people smile. And here I am doing something else I love- writing. Door's always open... come on in!
This entry was posted in art, crafts, photos, Zentangles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

